German Wirehaired Pointer Club of America Forum Index German Wirehaired Pointer Club of America
AKC Parent Club for the German Wirehaired Pointer

ForumForum FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
 gwpca bulletin boardGWPCA Home Page   gwpca bulletin boardBulletin Board   gwpca bulletin boardGWPCA Rescue Page 

training for tracking?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    German Wirehaired Pointer Club of America Forum Index -> Companion Training
View previous topic :: View next topic  
mnoss

PostPosted: 05/07/03, 7:58 am    Post subject: training for tracking? Reply with quote

I work as a biologist. There are dogs that have been trained for finding reptiles and amphibians. One of the biologist involved with these trackings told me that even though his dog is a family dog and a tracker it is best to keep the two seperate. This doesn't make sense to me. I would think a good hunting dog is a working dog and a companion.

I know this is a new area for training dogs. Does anyone think a GWP can be trained for tracking reptiles and amphibians? And what about the comment of the companion/family dog and training for tracking?

Thanks.

mnoss
Leslie Swisher

PostPosted: 05/07/03, 2:25 pm    Post subject: tracking Reply with quote

I've trained dogs to do AKC tracking tests. These tests require the dog to follow the scent path left by a person and indicate things they dropped along the way. There is nothing related to this type of tracking that is incompatible with being a family or companion dog. Actually, I cannot think of any tracking people who have tracking dogs that are NOT also companion dogs.

I do not have any knowledge regarding the training for reptile tracking. I would guess that a dog could be trained to follow just about anything that leaves a scent trail.