German Wirehaired Pointer Club of America Forum Index German Wirehaired Pointer Club of America
AKC Parent Club for the German Wirehaired Pointer

ForumForum FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
 gwpca bulletin boardGWPCA Home Page   gwpca bulletin boardBulletin Board   gwpca bulletin boardGWPCA Rescue Page 

Help with training issue- Motivation

Post new topic   Reply to topic    German Wirehaired Pointer Club of America Forum Index -> Companion Training
View previous topic :: View next topic  
maryg

PostPosted: 01/28/07, 11:19 am    Post subject: Help with training issue- Motivation Reply with quote

Hi All,
I am a dog trainer, with a gwp in a basic class. She is 4yo, and recently has been moved from a rural location with all the freedom, to an urban neighborhood which requires use of leash for walks.....

My problem is motivation. She is not food motivated, doesn't seem to play with toys. She acts aloof even with her owners and I am just to be ignored. Other dogs are just not there. Yes, she is a very unhappy camper.

I train using positive motivation, with a good dose of discipline worked in. Owners MUST be the Pack Leader.

From reading some of these past messages, there are some good gwp people out there. Any suggestions? Question

Thanks, Mary
cmmilach
Senior
Senior

PostPosted: 01/28/07, 5:20 pm    Post subject: Help with training issue- Motivation Reply with quote

Hi,

Unfornately, if a wire does not want to be someplace than it can be very hard to get them to work. My 4 yr old female is not food motivated, loves her toys (if they make noise) & lives for her frisbee. I have found that if you just give them praise and find a toy they love they usually come around.

I do obedience, Rally, Agility, confirmation & field work so I have had some experience motivating a wire.