German Wirehaired Pointer Club of America Forum Index German Wirehaired Pointer Club of America
AKC Parent Club for the German Wirehaired Pointer

ForumForum FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
 gwpca bulletin boardGWPCA Home Page   gwpca bulletin boardBulletin Board   gwpca bulletin boardGWPCA Rescue Page 

Wirehairs vs. Drahthaars clarification
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    German Wirehaired Pointer Club of America Forum Index -> General Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
FCShorthairs

PostPosted: 10/04/04, 1:48 pm    Post subject: Wirehairs vs. Drahthaars clarification Reply with quote

I've been breeding and competing Shorthairs for almost 20 years. So imagine my surprise at being told I don't know what I'm talking about. Now I certainly don't profess to know everything, as soon as you think you do, you stop learning. But I thought I knew a German Wirehair when I see one.

At the Idaho Pheasant Day youth hunt this past weekend I was running my dogs for the kids that our local Fish & Game bring out for a sponsored hunt. A fella came past me with a little "Wirehair" pup that a friend of mine reached down to pet. My friend asked the fella what breed the dog was and the fella replied "he's a Deutsch Drahthaar". My friend said he had never heard of that breed before so I told him he was a Wirehair (which of course he had heard of).

(here's a breif part of the conversation to show you why it was confusing)

The man then says, "no, he's a Drahthaar"
I replied, "that's what I said"
He said, "no, you called him a Wirehair"
and I said, "but so did you"
The man then said, "your missing my point, it's not a Wirehair, it's Drahthaar".
I told him, "one of us is confused, does'nt Drahthaar mean Wirehair in German"?