German Wirehaired Pointer Club of America Forum Index German Wirehaired Pointer Club of America
AKC Parent Club for the German Wirehaired Pointer

ForumForum FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
 gwpca bulletin boardGWPCA Home Page   gwpca bulletin boardBulletin Board   gwpca bulletin boardGWPCA Rescue Page 

Bobwhite Quail, Self Training Work

Post new topic   Reply to topic    German Wirehaired Pointer Club of America Forum Index -> Training for field
View previous topic :: View next topic  
wiscobob

PostPosted: 02/16/04, 5:58 pm    Post subject: Bobwhite Quail, Self Training Work Reply with quote

Ok as a novice I am getting ready to train my pup. I have read Joan Bailey’s book and it makes a lot of sense to me so thank you to all who suggested this book. My question is this.

I live in Northeastern Wisconsin (Oshkosh) I have a friend that owns a farm and he has 85 Acres that he just leaves in CRP. Meaning he doesn’t farm the field anymore and just lets it go wild in native grasses. (Gets a tax break on the land) He has agreed to let me work my pup there. I was thinking of building a "Johnny House" for Bobwhite quail so that I can work my dog on them and then hopefully have them return to the Johnny house to be released again and the dog worked on them again.

Has anyone ever done this up here? Any advice on how to do this would be much appreciated. I have read many things but I am looking for someone with actual experience. Will they recall during the summer or not until closer to fall? Any advice you all have would be helpful since I am truly a beginner.

I have read you can get a dog training license that would hopefully make this legal, I need to do more checking obviously I will make sure this is all legal.