German Wirehaired Pointer Club of America Forum Index German Wirehaired Pointer Club of America
AKC Parent Club for the German Wirehaired Pointer

ForumForum FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
 gwpca bulletin boardGWPCA Home Page   gwpca bulletin boardBulletin Board   gwpca bulletin boardGWPCA Rescue Page 

Show Leads

Post new topic   Reply to topic    German Wirehaired Pointer Club of America Forum Index -> Training for Performance/Conformation
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Calvin

PostPosted: 02/10/04, 11:06 pm    Post subject: Show Leads Reply with quote

I am very new to shwoing for conformation. In fact, we just went to our first conformation class tonight. The question I have will most likely have many answers, but here goes. What is the best type of show lead to use with the GWP?

Calvin
cmmilach
Senior
Senior

PostPosted: 02/11/04, 10:57 am    Post subject: Show Leads Reply with quote

Hi,

In response to which show lead works best for your GWP, the answer is, whatever works for you & your dog. My male had to be shown on a snake chain collar & braided leather lead (it was the only thing that he could not break). My female does fine on a nylon slip collar & matching lead. My suggestion to you would be to see if it is at all possible to try different types of leads. You could ask to borrow some from the other students in your confirmation class.

Good Luck.

Cathy
dw91165

PostPosted: 02/18/04, 7:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The best choke is the one that is best for you and your dog. Each dog is different...