German Wirehaired Pointer Club of America Forum Index German Wirehaired Pointer Club of America
AKC Parent Club for the German Wirehaired Pointer

ForumForum FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
 gwpca bulletin boardGWPCA Home Page   gwpca bulletin boardBulletin Board   gwpca bulletin boardGWPCA Rescue Page 

Water test questions???
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    German Wirehaired Pointer Club of America Forum Index -> Training for field
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Roosterridge

PostPosted: 01/23/04, 9:20 pm    Post subject: Water test questions??? Reply with quote

Hello I am new to this so the questions I am asking are borne out of ignorance. Anyhow forging ahead, I am interested in Hunt testing one of my GWP's and I live in Colorado. I have not found a any clubs offering a water test so my first question is how do I find a listing of water tests?

Secondly I was wondering is there is any way to recieve water test credit if the dog in question has passed a NAVHDA Utility test? They have something that appears similiar, again speaking from ignorance, to the water test in the NAVHDA UT test. It is called the "retrieve of duck" in the NAVHDA testing manual and appears to go beyond what is being asked in the water test.

Anyhow any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.....
Tony
Master
Master

PostPosted: 01/24/04, 2:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Check the GWP clubs or the Weimeriner (sp?) clubs, as far as I know, these are the only 2 AKC Hunt Test organizations that are doing the water test.

Though the NAVHDA UT water work is much more difficult than the AKC Water Test, it does not qualify towards the AKC requirements.
dualgwp

PostPosted: 01/24/04, 6:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote