German Wirehaired Pointer Club of America Forum Index German Wirehaired Pointer Club of America
AKC Parent Club for the German Wirehaired Pointer

ForumForum FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
 gwpca bulletin boardGWPCA Home Page   gwpca bulletin boardBulletin Board   gwpca bulletin boardGWPCA Rescue Page 

Color of puppies
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    German Wirehaired Pointer Club of America Forum Index -> General Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
kansasgwp

PostPosted: 12/22/02, 4:35 pm    Post subject: Color of puppies Reply with quote

I am new to the German wire-haired pointer breed. I have a female that is a year old and truly enjoy her. I am looking at a litter of puppies so I can purchase a second GWP. In the litter there are 4 that are completely white, there appears to be a trace of orangish tint about the head and ears. Is this a common coloring for young puppies and if so will they stay light colored? Finally, is this an exceptable coloration? In my internet research I find black and whites are discriminated against but nothing about white ones.
cmmilach
Senior
Senior

PostPosted: 12/23/02, 6:29 pm    Post subject: Color of puppies Reply with quote

Hi,

White is an acceptable color. Some people prefer them when hunting because they are easier to see than the liver & whites or roans.

My male was born white with a dark head & when I picked him up at 9 weeks he was still white with the dark head, he is now eight yrs old & is liver ticked.

Good luck in your search!

Cathy
Deb Finstad
Junior
Junior

PostPosted: 12/27/02, 6:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote