German Wirehaired Pointer Club of America Forum Index German Wirehaired Pointer Club of America
AKC Parent Club for the German Wirehaired Pointer

ForumForum FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
 gwpca bulletin boardGWPCA Home Page   gwpca bulletin boardBulletin Board   gwpca bulletin boardGWPCA Rescue Page 

New to the Breed
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    German Wirehaired Pointer Club of America Forum Index -> General Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Florida

PostPosted: 01/12/09, 9:03 am    Post subject: New to the Breed Reply with quote

Hi, I'm quite new to the GWP, but I have become very impressed by the ones I have met. I have experience with boarder collies and vizsla's, but I do not hunt.

What my question is: is this dog really suitable for someone who doesn't hunt? I know some breeds are okay as long as they are exercised while others simply are not stimulated enough by any other activity. I was also considering looking into the VDD as a way of getting involved with the dog and I was hoping someone may be able to say something about that (I have looked at the website). Thanks.
whiskerdog1
Master
Master

PostPosted: 01/12/09, 10:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Suitable?
No

They ARE Hunting dogs
This is certainly true of the VDD dogs (One Must be a Licensed Hunter to purchase a DD).
Many serious Navhda breeders might also shun selling to a non hunting home.

Go to a pound and rescue a companion dog, You and the dog will be happy with your choice.

Yes, some GWPs/DDs are nice Companion dogs, but their true potential isnt reached, and I think their heart/soul is never at peace, if not given the chance to hunt.

Its Akin to now allowing a Greyhound to ever run..
cmmilach
Senior
Senior