German Wirehaired Pointer Club of America Forum Index German Wirehaired Pointer Club of America
AKC Parent Club for the German Wirehaired Pointer

ForumForum FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
 gwpca bulletin boardGWPCA Home Page   gwpca bulletin boardBulletin Board   gwpca bulletin boardGWPCA Rescue Page 

Biting
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    German Wirehaired Pointer Club of America Forum Index -> General Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Jack Attack

PostPosted: 04/08/08, 4:54 pm    Post subject: Biting Reply with quote

I am new to this. I have a male GWP about 4 years old. We rescued him from our local pound when he was 6-7 mos old. He is a great dog. The problem is about 6 mos ago a boy came to the door that our dog had met once or twice. My boys were standing in the doorway talking and this boy bent down and was making wierd noises at the dog and getting in his face close to the dog. All of a sudden Jack just jumped up and bit the boy and then ran back in the house. That was the first time in 3 plus years that we have had Jack that he has ever been agressive. The problem is now he is growling at certain people and biting them. He has not broken the skin. It seems he is scared when he does it and it usually happens at the entrance of our home or when someone enters our RV that we travel in alot. I cannot trust anyone in our house or RV that Jack doesn't know super well. What do I do? He was always so loving and trust worthy around everyone. We love this dog and want to get another but we travel alot and are around new people all the time. Any suggestions?
cmmilach
Senior
Senior

PostPosted: 04/09/08, 11:50 am    Post subject: Biting Reply with quote

Hi,